Home » railML newsgroups » railml.common » XSD design patterns (was: Re: railML 3.x: Data Modelling Patterns)
Re: XSD design patterns (was: Re: railML 3.x: Data Modelling Patterns) [message #2090 is a reply to message #2087] Fri, 11 January 2019 18:08 Go to previous message
Thomas Nygreen JBD is currently offline  Thomas Nygreen JBD
Hi Christian,

Christian Rößiger wrote on Fri, 11 January 2019 17:01

From my point of view, the greater flexibility in reusing the schema and the fact that railML3 apparently already follows the pattern "Garden of Eden" more than "Venetian Blind" (in contrast to railML2.x) speak in favor of a consequnt adaptation of railML3 to the design pattern "Garden of Eden".

I have no experience using Enterprise Architect, but from what I read in the manual, the change away from global elements requires only deselecting one checkbox when exporting. So changing to Venetian Blind is quite effortless. On the other hand, Garden of Eden would require renaming of all existing complexTypes to work according to the pattern's purpose. For many types this is just a matter of different capitalisation, which could maybe be automated, but hundreds of types have other differences as well. Normally, Garden of Eden schemas use @ref instead of @type on elements within types. This ensures equal naming of local and global definitions. When using the option in Enterprise Architect to export global elements for complexTypes to achieve a similar pattern, care must be taken to align type names and element names, and each unique element name must have its own global type of the same name.

Regarding the reuse of elements: I know that this is always listed as a strength of Garden of Eden, but what does it really add compared to extending types from a Venetian Blind schema? Maybe I am missing something. I hope someone can enlighten me. (For Salami Slice this is different, since it does not have global types.)

Quote: